Brighton Calling: WFC Update

Standard

This weekend I’m in Brighton for the World Fantasy Convention. It’s my first con, and all very exciting. I’ve rubbed shoulders in the audience with Trudi Canavan, had a friendly chat with Tim Powers, and seen Hal Duncan and Scott Lynch in the bar. A real reminder that literary giants are people too, and for the most part incredibly friendly.

I’ve also been to a large number of panel discussions, which I’ll type up over the next fortnight for proper examination. Today I’m going to a very small workshop run by Robin Hobb. This is Awesome(TM).

There’s a book dealers’ room, and an artists’ gallery, and launch parties and signings and gods know what else. There was also a guy selling LotR swords who got into slight trouble with me for implying I wouldn’t know about weighting and design because I’m a girl. Given that about 50% of the audience is female, this surprised me but more on that later when I type up the panel on ‘Broads with Swords’.

Thank you to Mr and Mrs Rusky Doo for putting me up, and to blog-reader Francesco for coming to say hi. All the exciting intellectual meat to follow next week when I’m not typing on my phone.

One response »

Leave a Reply

