Radio Silence & Research

Standard

Sorry for the long absence – I’ve been on holiday, during which time I did very little writing but caught up on my reading. I also picked the raptor’s brains extensively to ensure I’d ironed out any plot holes in Corpus. As a result, the entire story is now overhauled, the narrator has changed and I need to do a whole lot more research before I start. Writing philosopher kings means you kinda need to know some philosophy. I’m currently working my way, simultaneously, through Plato’s The Republic and Machiavelli’s The Prince. If anyone can think of similar works, please let me know!

It also means I have finally graduated from keeping all my notes for a book on a word doc, to something a bit more sophisticated. This is mainly because I kept forgetting stuff. I’ve now set up a wiki for all the bits and pieces (including keeping a record of the synopsis, hook line, etc for each book). I know some people use Scrivener but, for some reason, I just couldn’t get it to work for me. Plus I like having everything online as it means I can access it from any computer with an internet connection or, indeed, my phone.

Work is about to go a bit mental so I can’t promise regular updates but I will try to be good.

One response »

Leave a Reply

