Heroic Crown & Crazy Plans

Standard

I’m taking a break from writing prose and going back to poetry temporarily. The 5 Phrases competition is up and running again (see the link above for details). But because I am a glutton for punishment, I’m not doing it simply. I’m attempting what’s known as a heroic crown of sonnets.

I need my head examined.

Basically, a sonnet is a 14 line poem in iambic pentameter, with either a rhyming scheme of ABAB CDCD EFEF GG (English) or ABBA ABBA CDECDE (Italian). With me so far?

A crown of sonnets is a series of sonnets following this pattern, but the first line of each one is the same as the last line of the preceding one. The last line of the final sonnet is the first line of the opening sonnet, making a cycle. Challenging but doable.

A heroic crown of sonnets is fifteen verses following the crown pattern but with the fifteenth sonnet made up of the opening lines of all the other verses IN ORDER and still making sense. Mental.

And, in accordance with the rules of the competition, I also have to fit the five set phrases for this month in there somewhere.

Leave a Reply

